As the big day approaches, and I keep signing up for events, the details of actually making this happen start to pop up, too.

How many of these rides do I want/need to transport my bike for? (Yes, I just ended that sentence with a preposition.) For the week-long rides, it makes sense. Does a one or two day ride justify the expense of shipping the bike, not to mention the inconvenience of not having it for a week on either side of the event? I’m even thinking about driving to San Francisco for the start of the Climate Ride just to avoid the hassle.

Hotels! Flights! Bike rentals!

I’ll confess, while I’m probably going to do all three Bike to the Beach events because the cause is so important to me, and the events are so close to friends and family, I can’t deny that the ease of renting a bike is a big draw.

Meanwhile, I troll the Internet for flights and rooms, ignoring my beautiful bikes and the beautiful day beckoning outside…

