50 days from today, I turn 50.

This crazy plan I hatched a few weeks ago is taking shape: During the year that I’m 50, I’m going to ride a bicycle at least 50 miles in each of the 50 united states of America.

Why?

To do something for myself (2500+ miles should help me stay fit as I go over the hill)
To do something for others (every ride will benefit a charity)
To go boldly where I haven’t gone before (and avoid splitting infinitives along the way)

As of today, I’ve registered for rides in 10 states (and DC) benefitting Autism Speaks, the Cascade Bicycle Club, the Greater Yellowstone Coalition, and the Los Angeles County Bicycle Coalition.

I need your help. If I’m already riding in your state, please consider sponsoring me for the Climate Ride, or joining/sponsoring Team Andrew, or volunteering on one of these awesome rides.

If I’m not yet signed up for a ride near you, please suggest a cause you’d like me to support and/or an event you think I should join in the comments section below or tweet me @LL505050.

Thanks for your support, whether it’s emotional, financial, moral, or immoral.

