After the Friday-Saturday FAIL edition, I needed some inspiration.

Graham’s class at Flywheel helped. I felt motivated to succeed again after riding inside

Grocery shopping on the Pretty Girly Bike helped, not only because I got to ride outside, (and the bike always gets compliments, which makes me feel special) but also because I got to talk to other cyclists at the overcrowded bike racks.

One said, “Are you going to the thing tomorrow?”
I said, “Of COURSE!”
He said, “Do you even know what I’m talking about?”
I said, “CicLAvia to the SEA, baby!”

So, if you don’t know what I’m talking about…
Ciclavia

This might help.

I. Martin organized a feeder ride, and there were some familiar faces: a woman who had come along for Solvang training rides, one of the other cyclists from the grocery run the day before… this is how it starts to feel like a community.

We posed for a picture before we entered the route:
100_0168

And then it was east to downtown LA:

100_0170
Our Lady, the Queen of the Pretty Girly Bike

Back through downtown LA to Peddler’s Creamery:

IMG_2238

100_0172

100_0173

I lost my original posse in the swarm… and never found the many friends who were also out for the day. Apparently, there were about 150,000 people out on the route. Here are some of them in action:

The Dogs of CicLAvia
100_0175

100_0179

100_0180

The end of the line:

100_0181

The bicycle traffic jam on the way back:
(notice the absence of cars on the other side of the road)
100_0185

The LACBC booth at the Culver City hub:
100_0187

Don’t you wish every day could be like CicLAvia? I do.

