Unlke Mick Jagger, I do not find that time is on my side. It’s one of the reasons I’m doing these rides now, while I can.

I’m also time-challenged. Getting places on time is difficult for me. Perhaps I’m too optimistic, and just think that things will go my way.

The day before the day before the California Climate Ride, I stayed up until 2am packing. I woke up at 6am, but I wasn’t on the road at 7, as planned.

I decided to drive to San Francisco via San Jose, where the Amgen Tour of California was racing that day.

I really wanted to see the women’s time trial, because it would be the only day women raced.

By the time I parked my car on Monterey Road, Evie Stevens had already won.

But, I had the joy of hiking the 3km to the finish line, and witnessing things like this:

and this!

Keep an eye on Evelyn Stevens’ hands from seconds 23 through 30.

It’s inspiring to me to see how hard even the pros have to work on the hills… and I would need that inspiration for the week that followed.

