If my first fifty miles in May were for the home team (how else to describe the Los Angeles County Bicycle Coalition, an organization that lobbies and advocates for safer cycling on the street where I live?), my June rides are for the close-to-home teams.

Friday, June 7: Bike to the Beach. I’ll be riding 100 miles from lower Manhattan to the Hamptons to benefit Autism Speaks. My nephew Andrew is one of many children diagnosed with this condition. Thanks to early detection and intervention, he’s doing well, but he’s been fortunate to have my sister as his mother. She has been a tireless advocate on his behalf. Not everyone is so fortunate, and not every child has fared as well as Andrew. I hope that my participation in the event will help raise awareness, and help more children get the help they need to achieve their potential.

You can support Team Andrew by clicking here. Thanks!

Saturday, June 8: Ride 4 Autism. I’ll be riding 50+ miles in New Jersey for Autism New Jersey. As much good as the large national charities do, I really like riding for a local organization and giving back to the people whose turf I’m on. If you’re interested in supporting this ride, please click here.

Sunday, June 9: Cyclefest. I’ll be riding 50+ miles in Connecticut to support Danbury Youth Services’ Earn a Bike program. They’re helping at-risk youth build their own bikes. I think I’ll shut up and let the video tell the story:

Bikes! At risk youth! Local impact!

I’m hoping for sunny skies, and looking forward to all the new friends I’ll make out there on the road!

