Twenty years ago, on my 30th birthday, I hiked the Grand Canyon. It was a low point in my life, but I scrounged together the resources for a day trip while meeting my mom (who was visiting my sister, who was at Arizona State). I went as far as hikers are advised to go if they need to come out the same day, and had to charm my way out of a speeding ticket on the return trip.

grandcanyon1993

I vowed that I would return, and as my 50th approached, my dream of hiking rim-to-rim seemed long overdue. The challenge? The north rim is only open a few months a year, and rooms book up over a year in advance. By the time the plot was hatched, the only night we could get a room at Phantom Ranch was the same weekend as:

Bat Mitzvah of a friend’s youngest daughter
Graduation ceremony for a friend’s newly minted master’s degree
CicLAvia – Iconic Wilshire Boulevard edition
Young Guns LA
Crater Lake’s Rim Drive closed to cars! (I presume this is the Oregon version of CicLAvia…)

You can’t do everything, and this would be a great weekend to be home… Or in Oregon… Or where we’re headed.

It’s a great weekend to be alive and outdoors. Go enjoy your corner of the universe, and let’s compare notes next week!

