Things I did in our nation’s capital when I wasn’t on a bike:

I don’t know why this reminded me of Ming Lee, but…
IMG_2572

When you ride almost 200 miles in two days, you feel like you’ve earned a caviar cone from Jaleo
IMG_2573

But you wonder what you’ve done to to justify getting caught in a crowd of Beliebers
IMG_2574

The next day, I met up with a friend who works for the “State Department” (wink, wink), who took me on a tour of the mall:
IMG_2575

Is that a monument in your scaffolding, or are you just happy to see me?
IMG_2576

I found the Korean War memorial particularly moving:
IMG_2577

IMG_2578

But it seemed as if renovations had put Dr. King back in Birmingham jail:
IMG_2580

When the Hubble Telescope was first launched into space, its mirrors were ________, and thus provided blurred images:
IMG_2584

Saul and Carrie?
IMG_2588

If these towels had been nicer, these souvenirs would have come home:
IMG_2589

The Signers of the Declaration of Independence monument was cool:
IMG_2590

IMG_2591

But the Nam Jun Paik exhibit at the Smithsonian Museum of American Art seemed to sum things up for me:
IMG_2593

IMG_2594

