If you’re reading this, you’re probably part of the bike choir I’m preaching to. You know that riding a bicycle, whether it’s for your commute or your errands, is reducing your carbon footprint. You’re not only taking a car out of traffic, you’re creating space for the motorists and speeding their journey home. You’re improving the situation in the Whole Foods parking lot. You’re setting a good example for others, especially if you’re an “indicator species” like I am. You might even be riding your bike for a larger cause, such as…

The National Bike Challenge https://nationalbikechallenge.org/ (A good way to continue your 30 Days of Biking momentum)

Climate Ride http://www.climateride.org/ (more environmental beneficiaries than I could even begin to name)

Cycle Greater Yellowstone http://cyclegreateryellowstone.com/

In this past year, I’ve tried to ride my bike in all 50 states, and I’m at 34 and counting. I’ve visited the first state and the fiftieth, ridden in Hawaii and Maine and Alaska and all the states bordering Florida.

Today, on Earth Day, with the 30 Days of Biking community of joyful cyclists, I’d like to reflect a little on all the beautiful places my bike has taken me this year and they joy they’ve brought me:

From California…
P1010103

…to the New York Highway
IMG_2361

From the Redwood Forest…
Climate Ride California 2013 Day 1 130

(Also some other trees)
IMG_3087

IMG_3446

(From Arizona to Hawaii, the rain clouds follow me)

..to the Gulf Coast waters
GCI team finish

I rode this ribbon of highway…
IMG_2683

I saw above me many endless skyways…
100_0288

I saw below me many valleys, golden and otherwise…
IMG_3009

Okay, start singing along with Woody.

Here’s a link to the lyrics:
http://www.woodyguthrie.org/Lyrics/This_Land.htm

Feel free to insert “riding” for “walking”

The last few stanzas are pretty political. I don’t remember learning them, even in the late ’60s at my pretty progressive “school for gifted children”. Sing them, too.

This land is ours. This planet is ours. Let’s ride it joyfully and remember why we fight to save it.

