The route:

IMG_4669.JPG

Team Alliance for the Great Lakes:
IMG_4670.JPG

Welcome to Indiana!
(Unmarked border…)

IMG_4671.JPG

We started our morning riding through beachfront communities with beautiful (for the most part) homes.

IMG_4672.JPG

Industry!

IMG_4673-0.JPG

First water stop at Indiana Dunes…

IMG_4674.JPG

IMG_4676.JPG
Yes, I look that miserable. My cold was raging, I had something in my eye, and I hadn’t put the phone in airplane mode, so my real life was encroaching…

IMG_4675.JPG

From there, we were mostly on bike paths for the rest of the day. Cathedrals of trees and twig-strewn riding gave way to greenways. Lunch was midway down the Oak Savannah Trail…

IMG_4682.JPG

IMG_4681.JPG

IMG_2418.JPG

And welcome to Illinois!

IMG_2424.JPG

IMG_2423.JPG

My first glimpse of Chicago…

IMG_2425.JPG

Shortly after hitting the Lake Shore Drive path, a slow flat (lots of glass in urban areas) took me out a mile from the meetup point. Fixed, thanks to our crew… And then it was time to hang out until the final 6 miles we’d ride as a group.

Stretching:

IMG_2427-0.JPG

Examining cobwebs:

IMG_2426-0.JPG (Later, I observed a heavily-inked beard farmer frantically shooing one off his mountain bike. Apparently, the giant spider tattoo on his forearm was meant to ward them off, not as a token of his arachnophilia….)

No panties under bike shorts!

IMG_2430-0.JPG

Beach fun:

IMG_2432-0.JPG

IMG_2428-0.JPG

And then we rode to Northerly Island, a long ribbon of Climate Riders, old and young…
Across the finish line:

IMG_2439.JPG
Done!

IMG_2436-0.JPG

You can still sponsored and support the Alliance for the Great Lakes here.

